Claus-barbra70s-small.JPG  Claus-barbra70s-small-b.JPG

 Claus Ogerman - Lone Hill Jazz:


Hodges_WildBill-CD-front.png  Tracklist.png 

Johnny Hodges & Wild Bill Davis, "Con Soul & Jazz - Wild Bill Is The Boss!", Lone Hill Jazz [Spain] #LHJ 10283_2 (year unknown).[2-CD Compilation Set]

The tracks “Sandy's Gone,” “Candy's Theme,” “The Caretakers Theme” and “Again” included on this compilation set are arranged by Claus Ogerman.  The track "Sandy's Gone" is also composed by Claus Ogerman.

The Johnny Hodges-Wild Bill Davis Project, Vol.1
The only 2-CD set of the series, comprises the only two albums in which Wild Bill Davis was the primary session leader, and in which his name preceded that of Hodges in the original cover art (Con-Soul & Jazz and Wild Bill Davis & Johnny Hodges in Atlantic City). These albums usually appear on jazz discographies under Wild Bill's name. In addition, we also have the album Blue Pyramid, in which Hodges' name is, as usual, the first one mentioned.

The three albums, recorded in '65 and '66, were the last small group albums by this amazing team. As fillers at the end of Disc Two are 5 songs from the Hodges album Blue Notes and the four tracks featuring both Hodges and Davis from the album "Sandy's Gone".


CD 1
01.    On The Sunny Side Of The Street
02.    On Green Dolphin Street
03.    Lil' Darlin'
04.    Con Soul And Sax
05.    The Jeep Is Jumpin'
06.    I'm Beginning To See The Light
07.    Sophisticated Lady
08.    Drop Me Off In Harlem
09.    No One
10.    Johnny Come Lately
11.    Just Squeeze Me
12.    It's Only A Paper Moon
13.    Taffy
14.    Good Queen Bess
15.    L.B. Blues
16.    In A Mellow Tone
17.    Rockville

Total time: 70:22 min.

CD 2
01.    I'll Always Love You
02.    It Don't Mean A Thing
03.    Belle Of The Belmont
04.    Blues For Madeleine
05.    When I'm Feeling Kinda Blue
06.    Pyramid
07.    Nonchalance
08.    At Dawn
09.    Th e Brown-Skin Gal In The Calico Gown
10.    Stormy Weather
11.    Rabbit Out Of Th e Hat
12.    Hash Brown
13.    Blue Notes*
14.    Say It Again*
15.    I Can't Believe That You're In Love With Me*
16.    Broad Walk*
17.    L.B. Blues*,
18.    Sandy's Gone*
19.    Candy's Theme*
20.    The Caretakers Theme*
21.    Again*

* Bonus Tracks

Total time: 73:53 min.


Includes the complete LPs:
-Con-Soul & Jazz
-Wild Bill Davis & Johnny Hodges in Atlantic City
-Blue Pyramid

CD 1, #1-10: "CON-SOUL & SAX": New York, Jan 7, 1965.
CD 1, #11-17 & CD 2, #1-3: "IN ATLANTIC CITY": Grace's Little Belmont, Atlantic City, Aug 10 & 11, 1966.
CD 2, #4-12: "BLUE PYRAMID": New York, Nov/Dec, 1965 & Jan 17, 1966.
CD 2, #13-17: From "BLUE NOTES": New York, Aug 15 & 19, 1966.
CD 2, #18-21: From "SANDY'S GONE": New York, Sept 3, 1963.

[Musician personnel]

Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page