Antonio Carlos Jobim - Warner Brothers


[Original LP]

Wonderful_World_Netherlands-WARNER.jpg  Wonderful-world-of-acj-cdb.jpg
[WSM CD Reissue from 2001]

Antonio Carlos Jobim, "The Wonderful World of Antonio Carlos Jobim", Warner Brothers #1611 (1964).[Original LP]
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "The Wonderful World of Antonio Carlos Jobim", WSM #9362463152 (2001).[CD Reissue]
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "The Wonderful World of Antonio Carlos Jobim", Warner Brothers [Netherlands] #__________ (2001).[CD Reissue]

Music arranged and orchestra conducted by Nelson Riddle.


Side 1
Side 2

Ela é carioca


Água de beber

O morro não tem vez


Valsa do Porto das Caixas

Useless landscape (Inútil paisagem)

Samba do Avião

Só tinha de ser com você

Por tôda minha vida

A felicidade


Musician personnel: Antonio Carlos Jobim--guitar, vocal, piano; Dom Um Romão--drums; Pete Candoli--trumpet on "Valsa do Porto das Caixas".

Produced by Jimmy Hilliard.

This album is also contained within a later Warner CD compilation reissue entitled "Antonio Carlos Jobim: Composer".


Joanie Sommers & Laurindo Almeida, "Softly, The Brazilian Sound", Warner Brothers #_______ (1965).[LP]

This album contains Jobim's "Meditation" and "Corcovado".


Paul Smith/Piano and Orchestra, "Brazilian Detour", Warner Brothers #1626 (1966).[LP]

This album contains these Jobim compositions:

One Note Samba
Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars
The Girl From Ipanema
How Insensitive

[Original "False" U.S. LP]
[Above:  The "False" Tom Jobim LP as it appeared in the United States originally in 1966 and when reissued in 1975! 
The Brazilian issue of the "False" Jobim LP is pictured below.
Please note that the photos used in these LP releases and subsequent LP reissue
are completely different from the photos used in the original (and official) Brazilian LP/CD titled Tom Jobim Apresenta.]


Love_Strings_and_Jobim/LoveStringsandJobimTheEloquenceofAntonioCarlosJobim-FRONT.jpg  Love_Strings_and_Jobim/LoveStringsandJobimTheEloquenceofAntonioCarlosJobim-BACK.jpg
["False" Brazilian LP Reissue with liner notes in Portuguese by Stan Cornyn]

[1994 Warner Brothers Brazilian CD Reissue]

[The 2001 WSM CD Reissue]

Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Love, Strings, and Jobim", Warner Bros. #________ (1966).[Original "False" LP]&&&
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Love, Strings, and Jobim", Warner/Continental [Brazil] #301.404.056 (1975) [LP Reissue]
Gaya & Deodato, "Tom Jobim Apresenta", Warner Bros. #M832907-2 (1994).[CD Reissue]
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "Love, Strings and Jobim", WSM #9362478982 (2001).[CD Reissue]

&&&Special note of explanation: Originally titled as TOM JOBIM APRESENTA (Tom Jobim Introduces), produced by Aloysio de Oliveira & Ray Gilbert in 1966 for the Elenco label, it was conceived as an album through which Jobim would introduce new Brazilian composers and performers to American audiences. Gaya and Deodato were invited to write the arrangements and were promised to be credited as the album leaders. But, the names of the musicians have not appeared on the album credits and, thanks to the big design of Jobim used in the cover, consumers thought they were purchasing a Jobim album!

The situation became worse when the album was reissued in the USA by Warner Bros. in the mid-Seventies again under the title: "Love, Strings And Jobim", with the liner notes crediting Jobim as the piano player and the guitar player in the whole album, although he never played one note on it!

The first CD version, released by Warner in 1994, reproduces the original cover of the 1966 LP issue on the Elenco label. However, it adds the correct info concerning arrangers and musicians, mentioned in the liner cover (it is not known by this webmaster what information appears on the 2nd CD version by WSM, listed and pictured above).

It features two Jobim compositions:

Samba Torto aka Pardon My English (Jobim/Aloysio de Oliveira), arranged by Gaya.

Eu Preciso de Voce aka Hurry Up and Love Me (Jobim/Aloysio de Oliveira), arranged by Gaya.


01 - Berimbau (Baden Powell / Vinicius de Moraes)
02 - Razão de Viver (Tears) (Eumir Deodato / Paulo Sergio Valle)
03 - Você (You) (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
04 - Seu Encanto (The Face I Love) (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle)
05 - Samba Torto (Pardon My English) (Tom Jobim / Aloysio de Oliveira)
06 - Imagem (Image) (Luis Eça / Aloysio de Oliveira)
07 - Chuva (Rain) (Durval Ferreira / Camargo)
08 - Preciso de Você (Hurry Up And Love Me) (Aloysio de Oliveira / Tom Jobim)
09 - Morte de Um Deus de Sal (Neptune's Heptune) (Roberto Menescal / Ronaldo Bôscoli)
10 - Morrer de Amor (I Live To Love You) (Luvercy Fiorini / Oscar Castro Neves / Vrs. Gilbert)
11 - Tristeza de Nós Dois (The Sight Of You) (Durval Ferreira / Maurício Einhorn / Bebeto / Vrs. Gilbert)
12 - Preciso Aprender a Ser Só (If You Went Away) (Marcos Valle / Paulo Sergio Valle / Vrs. Gilbert)

Further information on this album can also be seen on the Albums - Elenco listing of "Tom Jobim Apresenta".


Liner-notes-Brazil_LP.JPG - Liner notes (in Portuguese) by Stan Cornyn for the Brazilian LP Reisssue of "Love Strings and Jobim".

Jobim-apresenta-liner.JPG - Detailed tracklist and photos of participants in the album (taken from CD Reissue).

Musician personnel:

Eumir Deodato
(piano, arrangements on tracks 06, 10, 11)
Lindolpho Gaya
Sergio Barroso
Edison Machado
Oscar Castro Neves
Mauricio Einhorn
Jorge Ferreira da Silva
(sax, flute)

Tracks from this album are also contained within a later Warner Brothers CD reissue compilation entitled "Antonio Carlos Jobim: Composer", listed and pictured elsewhere on this site.

1994 Warner Brothers Brazilian CD Reissue Produced by Arnaldo DeSouteiro.

 Certain-mr-lp.JPG  Certain-mr-lpb.JPG
[DJ/Promo LP]

W%201699-A.png  W%201699-B.png
[DJ/Promo LP labels]

[2008 Netherlands CD Reissue]

Antonio Carlos Jobim, "A Certain Mr. Jobim", Warner Brothers #1699 (1967).[Original LP]
Antonio Carlos Jobim, "A Certain Mr. Jobim", Warner Brothers "Masters" Series [Netherlands] #248244 (2008).[CD Reissue]

Arranged and conducted by Claus Ogerman.


Se Todos Fossem Iguais a Voce
Off-Key (Desafinado)
Once Again (Outra Vez)
I Was Just One More For You (Esperanca Perdida)
Estrado do Sol
Don't Ever Go Away (Por Causa de voce)



Certain-liners-1.JPG - Page 1 of original LP liner notes written by Hal Halverstadt.

Certain-liners-2.JPG - Page 2 of original LP liner notes written by Hal Halverstadt.

Certain-liners-3.JPG - Page 3 of original LP liner notes written by Hal Halverstadt.

Personnel includes Don Payne (bass) and Dom Um Romao (drums). Organ solo on "Surfboard" by Dick Hyman. Uncredited string orchestra.

Original LP Produced by George Lee and Ray Gilbert.

This album is also contained within a later Warner Brothers CD reissue entitled "Antonio Carlos Jobim: Composer" containing bonus tracks not on the original LP.


Quarteto Em Cy, "Quarteto Em Cy - The Girls From Bahia", Warner Brothers [Brazil] #WLP 75.002/WLPS 85.000 (1967).[LP]

This album contains Jobim's "Pardon My English" and "Useless Landscape".

  Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page