Taken during a recording session in the making of their first album together.
Left to right are Frank Sinatra, bassist Don Payne, guitarist/vocalist/composer Tom Jobim (seated) and drummer Dom Um Romao.


Antonio Carlos Jobim - Doxy

João Gilberto, "O Amor, O Sorriso e A Flor", Doxy #__________ (2010).[Audiophile 180 gram LP Reissue]


João Gilberto, "O Amor, O Sorriso e A Flor", Doxy #__________(2011).[Audiophile 180 gram LP & CD Reissue combo package]

Jobim compositions are listed in the tracklist below.

From the 2011 combo album packaging:
DIG-A-LOG with Doxy! 180 gram HQ vinyl albums featuring a bonus CD of the same album, so that you can have the analog and the digital for the price of one. Beat that!
João Gilberto - o amor, o sorriso e a flor
Once upon a time Joao Gilberto was just a reclusive and eccentric bohemian with a guitar, then came "Chega De Saudade", the song that launched both bossa nova and Joao's career. Over the next three years (with the help of song writing masterminds Tom Jobim and Vicinius De Moraes), Joao revolutionized Brazilian music with the three seminal albums that have become the Bibles of bossa nova: Chega De Saudade (1959), O Amor, o Sorriso e a Flor (1960) and Joao Gilberto (1961).


Side A
1 Samba de uma nota só (Jobim)
2 Doralice
3 Só em teus braços
4 Trevo de quatro folhas
5 Se é tarde me perdoa
6 Um abraço no Bonfá

Side B
7 Meditação (Jobim)
8 O pato
9 Corcovado
10 Discussão
11 Amor certinho
12 Outra vez

Joa%CC%83o%20Gilberto(Um%20Encontro,2015%20CD,front).jpg  Joa%CC%83o%20Gilberto(Um%20Encontro,2015%20CD,back).jpg

Tom Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes, Joao Gilberto & Os Cariocas, "Un Encontro No Au Bon Gourmet", Doxy [EU] #__________ (Released 3-3-2015).[140 Gram Audiophile Clear Vinyl LP, Limited Numbered Edition]

Notes below by Arnaldo DeSouteiro:

Recorded live (on August 2, 1962) during an engagement at the Au Bon Gourmet nightclub in Rio de Janeiro, the concert reunites bossa nova legends Joao Gilberto (vocals & acoustic guitar), Antonio Carlos Jobim (piano), Vinicius de Moraes (vocals), Milton Banana (drums), Octavio Bailly (acoustic bass) and the stunning group Os Cariocas (by then consisting of Severino Filho, Badeco, Quartera and Luiz Roberto).

That concert introduced a "new" song, "Garota de Ipanema" ("The Girl From Ipanema"), performed with a seldom-heard intro. The following year, Gilberto, Jobim and Banana -- plus Stan Getz and Astrud Gilberto -- would record the internationally famous version included on the million-selling and multi-Grammy winning album "Getz/Gilberto."

Among the other tunes performed on that concert are two more later selected for "Getz/Gilberto": "Só Danço Samba" (known here in the U.S. as "Jazz 'n' Samba") and "Corcovado" ("Quiet Nights of Quiet Stars"), both composed by Jobim. The tracklist also includes "Samba de Uma Nota Só" ("One Note Samba"), "Insensatez" ("How Insensitive"), "O Amor Em Paz" (Once I Loved") -- all written by Jobim -- plus Baden Powell's "Samba da Benção" and Dorival Caymmi's "Samba da Minha Terra."

The original concert was directed by Aloysio de Oliveira, and this LP issue includes liner notes by the California-based Brazilian music historian Daniella Thompson.

 Back to Recordings Index

Back to Site Index

Back to Home Page